LANCASTER, N.Y. (July 2, 2019) – Shawn Beatty of Lancaster became the first driver of 2019 to win two classes in one night this past Friday at Lancaster Dragway @ New York International Park.

Beatty first scored the win in Top 8 Eliminator after his opponent, Wayne Cleveland, broke out in the finals. He was then inserted in to the Mallare Trucking Top ET ladder. Beatty advanced to his second final of the night in Top where he went head-to-head with Gary Kerl. He took advantage of his slight head start on the starting tree to defeat Kerl for the win.

In Gianni Mazia’a Mod ET, Ryan Ricketson of Delevan, N.Y. scored his second win of the season. Ricketson took down Jim Fix in the finals.

Mike Peters of Angola, N.Y. scored his second-straight win in Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds. Peters defeated Josh Costa in a near heads up final pairing.  Their dial-ins were separated by just one one-hundreth of a second. Peters’s slight head start combined with a better reaction time allowed to win the race to top end.

In Tread City Tire Street, Russell Morris of Alden, N.Y. earned his first win of 2019. Morris got the win over Victoria Harvie after Harvie broke out in the finals.

Lancaster Dragway is off this Friday, July 5 for the Independence Day holiday weekend. IHRA Drag Racing resumes on Friday, July 12 featuring the Supercharged Bounty Hunters.

RESULTS (Driver, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, dial-in, elapsed time and top speed)

Mallare Trucking Top ET

Winner: Shawn Beatty (Lancaster, N.Y) .505 6.68 6.691 seconds, 101.64 mph

Runner-up: Gary Kerl (Clarence, N.Y.) 1968 Chevrolet Camaro .503 6.42 6.447 seconds, 106.14 mph

Top 8 Eliminator

Winner: Shawn Beatty (Lancaster, N.Y) .5 6.68 6.681 seconds, 100.67 mph

Runner-up: Wayne Cleveland (Williamsville, N.Y.) 1923 Ford T Bucket .549 5.74 5.739 seconds, 114.55 mph

Gianni Mazia’s Mod ET

Winner: Ryan Ricketson (Delevan, N.Y.) 1974 Dodge Dart .525 7.98 7.994 seconds, 85.33 mph

Runner-up: Jim Fix (Amherst, N.Y.) 1968 Dodge Dart .571 7.13 7.156 seconds, 94.92 mph

Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds

Winner: Mike Peters (Angola, N.Y.) 1980 Kawasaki .514 5.60 5.638 seconds, 122.62 mph

Runner-up: Josh Costa (Restof, N.Y.) Hayubusa .535 5.59 5.607 seconds, 121.33 mph

Tread City Tire Street ET

Winner: Russell Morris (Alden, N.Y.) 1966 Plymouth Fury III .548 8.65 8.711 seconds, 80.04 mph

Runner-up: Victoria Harvie (Newmarket, Ontario) 1978 Chevrolet Malibu .590 8.94 8.937 seconds, 76.12 mph