Select Page

LANCASTER, N.Y. (August 6, 2016) – Lancaster National Speedway hosted FOAR Score/Autograph Day on Saturday afternoon as a precursor to the Chase Rice concert later that evening. Race fans enjoyed meeting their favorite drivers and made some new favorites as well during the on-track autograph session at intermission.


Sunoco Sportsman points leader, Jake Lyon of Elma, N.Y. picked up his second win of the season in the division. Lyon cruised to the victory after passing Sherri Hogan for the lead just past halfway.

A field of 20 Sunoco Sportsman took the opening green flag on a sun-splashed Saturday afternoon. Jayme Thompson took the lead from the pole position with Sherri Hogan following her into the runner-up position after starting third. Hogan and the King Wolf Racing used the week off to put their #74 Sportsman back together after being sent hard into the turn 3 wall in her previous start.

Hogan moved by Thompson for the lead on lap 3 just before the first caution period of the 35 lap feature for an incident involving Alan Bookmiller and TJ Drennan.

Lyon started ninth and worked his way through the field during the first half of the race. He passed Mike Ramos for second on the race’s tenth lap, and he and Hogan began to pull away from the field. The third and final yellow flag of the race flew on lap 13 for an incident involving Matt Druar, Bobby Lippa, Jr. and Billy Burd. This set up a side-by-side restart with Hogan and Lyon on the front row.

It didn’t take long after the green flag was displayed for Lyon to take control of the field. By lap 14 he was out in front of Hogan, Ramos and the rest of the field.  Lyon drove away from the field to score his first win since opening day in the TDH Refrigeration #29. The victory extends Lyon’s point lead in the Sunoco Sportsman as well.

Tommy Catalano chased down Hogan late in the race to take second place in the end. Hogan had to settle for third. Tim Nies finished a career best fourth after winning his second heat race of the season earlier in the day. John Barber rounded out the top five.


Dave Whittaker was declared the official winner of the X-Press Signs Late Model feature. Eldon King III was the first car across the finish line, but was disqualified in post-race tech inspection.

King led the first 15 laps of the race from the pole position before being passed by Dave Russell. Russell led until lap 19 when a mechanical failure took him out of contention. The lead went back to King who held it until the end.

Travis Fisher of Freeland, PA was credited with second place. Frank Batista finished third followed by Ron Nurmi and Bill Osborn.


The Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks had a season high 25 cars sign in for competition. Keith Flanigan of Hamburg, N.Y. picked up his first feature win in over two years in the 25 lap feature.

Flanigan started on the pole and led early on in the race before surrendering the top spot to Dennis Londos on lap 5. Not to be outdone by the veteran, Flanigan came back to recapture the lead from Londos three laps later on lap 8. He held on the final 17 circuits to return to victory lane.

Andy Cryan finished second with Londos, Dave Wilson and Trevor Pettit completing the top five.


In the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders, Bobby Woch of Alden, N.Y. was declared the official winner of the 25-lap feature after Frank Prell was disqualified in post-race technical inspection. The victory is Woch’s second of the 2016 season. Points leader Kevin Bainbridge finished second. Chris Pennell, Jim Dauer and Dan Dressel filled out the top five.

Saturday night stock car action continues at Lancaster on Saturday, August 13 for Wing Night as the winged Can-Am TQ Midgets make a long overdue return to Lancaster’s ¼-mile inner oval. The Sportsman, Street Stocks and 4-Cylinder will also be in action. Racing starts at 6:30 p.m.



Heat Winners: Tim Nies, Jake Lyon, Tommy Catalano

Feature: JAKE LYON, Tommy Catalano, Sherri Hogan, Tim Nies, John Barber, Owen Bednasz, Shawn Nye, Mark Pennell, Kevin Lewis, Mike Ramos, Kevin Miller, Jayme Thompson, Dick Kluth, Mike Rogers, TJ Drennan, Alan Bookmiller, Neal Deitz, Jr., Billy Burd, Matt Druar, Bobby Lippa, Jr.


Heat Winners: Dave Russell, Bobby Weber

Feature: DAVE WHITTAKER, Travis Fisher, Frank Batista, Jr., Ron Nurmi, Bill Osborn, Terry Weldy, Nick Crassi, Dave Russell, Sam Fullone, Bobby Weber, Ron Richter DQ: Eldon King III


Heat Winners: Jarrod Brown, Dave Wilson, Tommy Wentland

Feature: KEITH FLANIGAN, Andy Cryan, Dennis Londos, Dave Wilson, Trevor Pettit, Jarrod Brown, Jerome Hruby, Tommy Wentland, Brian Hoffman, Jim Stein, Rob Pocobello, Rich Sharpe, Lexi Wilson, Don Sitarski, Heather Weber, Ed Culliton, Garrett Cleversley, Ken Maltby, Mike Dalfonso, Sr., Lou Carbone, Rick Meyers, Jeff Whalen, Mark Hoch DNS: Mike Dalfonso, Jr., Jim Bryant


Heat Winners: Chris Pennell, Frank Prell

Feature: BOBBY WOCH, Kevin Bainbridge, Chris Pennell, Jim Dauer, Dan Dressel, Joe Brunka, Dave Milbrand, Jr., Howard Guthrie, Laurie Krol, Kenny Hejna, Ben Russo DQ: Frank Prell