Select Page

LANCASTER, N.Y. (October 7, 2019) – New York International Raceway Park and Ian Hill Race Productions hosted Unfinished Business on Saturday at Lancaster Dragway. Over 200 cars from the United States and Canada jammed the pit area with Pro Street racers and Sportsman drivers competing across 11 classes of racing.

Joe DeSousa of Milton, Ontario topped the field in the $3,000-to-win 10.5W Outlaws Invitational Shootout. DeSousa defeated Nick Agostino in the final round of the “clocks off” battle for Outlaw supremacy.

John Pfuntner of Nunda, N.Y. won Moe’s Tire & Transmission 235 Outlaws as he narrowly beat Corrado Lentmello of Aurora, Ontario. John Sahli of Youngstown, Ohio won the 5.50 Index Limited class on starting line hole-shot over David Kelly of Syracuse. The Passing Lane Automotive 6.50 Index class came to a pair of local drivers as Dan Marvin of Kenmore, N.Y. beat Andy Bates of Lancaster. Sammy and Moe Alfaqih decided to split the Jet Automotive Limited 28s class.

Lancaster’s weekly classes of bracket racing were also in action with bonus money added to their purse. Jeff Blamowski defeated Wayne Cleveland in the finals of Mallare Trucking Top ET. Big G Roofing added an extra $1,000 to the purse of Top 8 Eliminator. Rich Yacos of Cambria, N.Y. beat Mike Swinarski in the Top 8 Final for the win and a $1,000 pay day.

In Gianni Mazia’s Mod ET, Robert Hetrick of West Seneca, N.Y. earned the class win over Jeff Kerl as he nailed his dial-in in the final pass. Brian Babiak of Elma, N.Y. won Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds. Steve Peloza took top honors in Tread City Tire Street. Ethan Pilote won the Junior Dragster final over Colin Jamieson. Riley Gregorie won the Second Chance race for the Juniors.

This Saturday, NYIRP hosts Road Rage-A-Rama II featuring a demolition derby, enduro, school bus races and more. Gates open at 4 p.m. with the show starting at 6 p.m. Advance discount presale tickets are available at select NAPA Auto Parts locations. The 2019 season concludes on Saturday, October 19 inaugural Autumn Classic with $2,000-to-win Box and No-Box Shootouts (purse based on 75 car field).

RESULTS (Driver, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, dial-in, elapsed time and top speed)

Outlaws Invitational – “Clocks Off”

Winner: Joe DeSousa (Milton, Ontario) 2009 Pontiac

Runner-up: Nick Agostino

Moe’s Tire & Transmission 235 Outlaws

Winner: John Pfuntner (Nunda, N.Y.) 1993 Ford Mustang .471 5.646 seconds, 104.15 mph

Runner-up: Corrado Lentmello (Aurora, Ontario) 1989 Ford Mustang .535 5.656 seconds, 128.18 mph

Street Limited 5.50 Index

Winner: John Sahli (Youngstown, Ohio) 1982 Chevrolet Monte Carlo .433 5.559 seconds, 122.60 mph

Runner-up: David Kelly (Syracuse, N.Y.) 1979 Chevrolet Camaro .496 5.527 seconds, 122.62 mph

Passing Lane Automotive 6.50 Index

Winner: Dan Marvin (Kenmore, N.Y.) .429 6.547 seconds, 92.63 mph

Runner-up: Andy Bates (Lancaster, N.Y.) .500 6.499 seconds, 90.17 mph

Mallare Trucking Top ET

Winner: Jeff Blamowski .513 5.98 6.029 seconds, 112.81 mph

Runner-up: Wayne Cleveland (Williamsville, N.Y.) 1923 Ford T Bucket .532 5.69 5.679 seconds, 113.58 mph

Top 8 Eliminator (Sponsored by Big G Roofing)

Winner: Rich Yacos (Cambria, N.Y.) Rear Engine Dragster .519 4.63 4.748 seconds, 132.29 mph

Runner-up: Mike Swinarski (Orchard Park, N.Y.) 2002 Chevrolet Camaro .667 5.18 5.196 seconds, 138.16 mph

Gianni Mazia’s Mod ET

Winner: Robert Hetrick (W. Seneca, N.Y.) 1987 Ford Mustang .558 7.00 7.000 seconds, 97.63 mph

Runner-up: Jeff Kerl (Cheektowaga, N.Y.) 1968 Chevrolet Camaro .588 6.47 6.467 seconds, 103.84 mph

Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds

Winner: Brian Babiak (Elma, N.Y.) 2009 Kawsaki .539 5.52 5.514 seconds, 128.14 mph

Runner-up: John Costa (Retsof, N.Y.) 2009 Hayabusa .484 FOUL

Tread City Tire Street ET

Winner: Steve Peloza 1963 Buick Riviera .544 9.91 10.028 seconds, 66.87 mph

Runner-up: John Wachowicz (Sanborn, N.Y.) Lincoln II Mark VI .720 9.00 8.969 seconds, 77.99 mph