Select Page

Harkiewicz, Eckert, Kerl, Vaughan, Kovach & Young grab wins at Lancaster

LANCASTER, N.Y. (July 8, 2017) – A mix of new faces and veterans visited victory lane on Friday night at Lancaster National Dragway on First Responders Night presented by 10-75 Emergency Lighting.

Headlining the class winners for the Franco’s Pizza IHRA Drag Racing program was Steve Harkiewicz of Pendleton, N.Y. who picked up his first win in Top 8 Eliminator. Harkiewicz defeated Michael Mallare in the final round.

Dale Eckert of S. Wales, N.Y. defeated Jan Winkowski in finals of Mallare Enterprises Top ET. Eckert cut a .501 light and held off Winkowski at top end to pick up the victory.

Jeff Kerl of Cheektowaga, N.Y. became the sixth different winner of the season in McGard Mod ET. Kerl got the win after Reid Ricketson broke out in the finals. Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds got just their third different winner of 2017 as Gerry Vaughan picked up the win over Alan Fletcher. Vaughan is the first driver besides Mike Peters and Lucas Salemi to win in Bikes & Sleds this year.

In Tread City Tire Street, Derrick Kovach of Lancaster was victorious in the final round over Timothy Markle. The Junior Dragsters made a rare Friday night appearance with a special a 7.90-index class. Alexandra Young of Alden, N.Y. beat her sister, Victoria, in the final pairing.

Next Friday, July 15, Lancaster National Dragway hosts its annual Nitro Night of Fire. Todd Paton and Bobby Lagana return to Lancaster with their Top Fuel Dragsters to attempt to break the track records once again. Last year, Paton smashed both the elapsed time and speed records. The TNT Hot Rod Series and a full card of IHRA Drag Racing will also be on tap.

RESULTS (Driver, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, dial-in, elapsed time and top speed)

Top 8 Eliminator
Winner: Steve Harkiewicz (Pendleton, N.Y.)1976 Dodge Truck .514 5.92 5.954 seconds, 110.56 mph
Runner-up: Michael Mallare (Grand Island, N.Y.) .526 5.42 5.455 seconds, 123.30 mph

Mallare Enterprises Top ET
Winner: Dale Eckert (S. Wales, N.Y.) 1969 Chevrolet Camaro .501 7.13 7.149 seconds, 90.78 mph
Runner-up: Jan Winkowski (Cheektowaga, N.Y.) 1972 Chevrolet Nova .543 6.73 6.792 seconds, 100.61 mph

McGard Mod ET
Winner: Jeff Kerl (Cheektowaga, N.Y.) 1968 Chevrolet Camaro .524 6.58 6.610 seconds, 101.12 mph
Runner-up: Reid Ricketson (Darien Center, N.Y.) 1974 Plymouth Duster .526 7.21 7.208 seconds, 93.36 mph

Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds
Winner: Gerry Vaughan (Cheektowaga, N.Y.) 1981 Yamaha .504 9.48 9.548 seconds, 73.91 mph
Runner-up: Alan Fletcher (Lancaster, N.Y.) Kawasaki .583 5.74 5.777 seconds, 116.26 mph

Tread City Tire Street ET
Winner: Derrick Kovach (Lancaster, N.Y.) 2011 Dodge Charger .651 9.23 9.287 seconds, 73.87 mph
Runner-up: Timothy Markle (Hilton, N.Y.) 1989 Pontiac Firebird .720 9.41 9.456 seconds, 74.46 mph

Junior Dragster (7.90 Index)
Winner: Alexandra Young (Alden, N.Y.) .580 7.913 seconds, 79.77 mph
Runner-up: Victoria Young (Alden, N.Y.) .616 7.961 seconds, 80.07 mph

Schedules – Download & Print

Sign-Up to Rained Out to receive a text when a race is cancelled