Select Page

LANCASTER, N.Y. (October 19, 2019) – Lancaster Dragway @ New York International Raceway Park closed out the 2019 season on Saturday afternoon with the inaugural Autumn Classic Box/No-Box Shootout. Over 175 cars showed up to compete on a picture-perfect October afternoon.

Zell Gaymon of Buffalo scored the win in the Box bracket. Gaymon defeated Pete D’Agnolo in the final round to earn the victory.

In the No-Box bracket, Robert Bauer III of Elma, N.Y. took down 12-time track champion Dale Eckert in the final round. Bauer’s K-100 Fuel Treatment Chevrolet Nova caught Eckert at top end to pick up the win.

There were also classes for Street cars and Junior Dragsters. JC Hutchinson of Cayuga, Ontario beat former Tread City Tire Street champion Cody Winkowski to score the Street class win. Brody Hinrich of Pavilion, N.Y. beat William Balser in the Junior Dragster final.

The staff and management of Lancaster Dragway @ NYIRP would also like to congratulate Keith Cleveland of Cheektowaga, N.Y. on winning the Top ET World Championship at the IHRA Summit Super Series World Finals at Memphis, Tennessee. Cleveland won over $20,000 in cash and prizes for the win. He picked up one win in Mallare Trucking Top ET this past season at Lancaster.

The 2019 Lancaster Dragway @ NYIRP Awards Banquet and Wall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be Friday, December 6 at the Variety Club Banquet Hall on Broadway in Lancaster.

RESULTS (Driver, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, dial-in, elapsed time and top speed)


Winner: Zell Gaymon (Buffalo, N.Y.) 1994 Chevrolet Lumina .528 5.49 5.476 seconds, 126.77 mph

Runner-up: Pete D’Agnolo (Rochester, N.Y.) 1978 Chevrolet Monza


Winner: Robert Bauer III (Elma, N.Y.) 1968 Chevrolet Nova .506 6.20 6.222 seconds, 106.90 mph

Runner-up: Dale Eckert (S. Wales, N.Y.) 1969 Chevrolet Camaro .526 7.09 7.110 seconds, 93.75 mph

Tread City Tire Street ET

Winner: JC Hutchinson (Cayuga, Ontario) 2015 Dodge Ram .522 9.15 9.186 seconds, 70.61 mph

Runner-up: Cody Winkowski (Depew, N.Y.) 1987 Chevrolet Monte Carlo .568 8.47 8.505 seconds, 79.11 mph

Jr. Dragsters

Winner: Brody Hinrich (Pavilion, N.Y.) .596 8.25 8.304 seconds, 76.65 mph

Runner-up: William Balser (W. Seneca, N.Y.) .658 7.95 7.989 seconds, 80.21 mph