Dragway Track Champions Crowned

LANCASTER, N.Y. (October 1, 2017) – Lancaster National Dragway’s 2017 season came to an end on Friday after the final Franco’s Pizza IHRA Drag Racing event of the year was rained out. With the schedule now in the books that means the 2017 drag racing track champions have been decided, and they will be honored at the Season Awards Banquet on Friday, November 10.

Dale Eckert captured his first career Mallare Enterprises Top ET championship following a run of 10 titles in 11 years while competing in Mod ET. Eckert edged Jan Winkowski by just ten points to lock up the title.

Reid Ricketson became just the third different driver in 12 year to win the McGard Mod ET championship. Ricketson and teammate Ray Thurston IV combined to win two races in 2017 to help clinch the track title one week before the season ended.

In Hebeler’s Sales Bikes and Sleds, Mike Peters won his second-straight track championship. Peters won three out of the first four races of the season and then won the final race of the year to edge fellow four-time race winner Lucas Salemi for the title. He has won the Bikes & Sleds championships in three out of the last four years.

Mason Fix repeated as track champion in Tread City Tire Street ET. Fix won the final two races of the year to help propel him ahead of Eddie Semlitsch for the Street crown.

In the Tuesday night Junior Dragster program, Zac Vitez won his second track championship in three year. Bob Kollander won the Tuesday night Senior Nostalgia track championship.

All of the Franco’s Pizza IHRA Drag Racing champions will be saluted during the Season Awards Banquet on Friday, November 10 at the Variety Club Banquet Hall.

Schedules – Download & Print

Sign-Up to Rained Out to receive a text when a race is cancelled