Select Page


LANCASTER, N.Y. (June 1, 2019) – Keith Cleveland of Cheektowaga, N.Y. took top honors in Mallare Trucking Top ET on Friday night at Lancaster Dragway @ New York International Raceway Park. The second generation driver beat 12-time track champion Dale Eckert in the final round when Eckert left the starting line too soon.

Keith Cleveland won Mallare Trucking Top ET

In Gianna Mazia’s Mod ET, Reid Ricketson of Darien Center, N.Y. took advantage of a red light by Russell Morris in final round to earn his first win of 2019. Last week’s Mod ET final that was postponed due to curfew also ran in a meeting between two track champions from last season. 2018 Street ET champ Mason Fix got the win over defending Mod champ Jeff Kerl in a double breakout run. Fix ran just one one-hundredth of a second under his dial-in.

Reid Ricketson got his first win in Mod ET this season

The Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds final was a rematch of the opening night final pair as Lucas Salemi faced off against former track champion Alan Fletcher. Salemi got revenge for his loss a week ago as Fletcher red lighted the race away to give Salemi the win.

Lucas Salemi won in Bikes & Sleds

Russell Morris made it to his second final round of the night in Tread City Tire. Unfortunately Morris finished the night 0-for-2 as he lost to Cody Winkowski after Winkowski beat Morris at top end.

Street ET winner Cody Winkowski

Longtime 97 Rock on-air personality and Buffalo Broadcasters Hall of Fame member Carl Russo has taken over duties as the track announcer on Friday night at Lancaster. Russo has been fixture at Lancaster throughout the years as a former stock car racer and host of Wednesday Cruise Night. He is quickly learning the ropes as a IHRA Drag Racing track announcer, and is a hit with racers and fans. New York International Raceway Park is thrilled to have Carl Russo as part of the team this season.

Next week is jam-packed for Lancaster Speedway & Dragway @ NYIRP. Both the Tuesday Test & Tune and Wednesday Cruise Night program hope to avoid the curse of Mother Nature this time around after both fell victim to rain this past week. Next Friday, June 7, is round #3 of weekly IHRA Drag Racing. Saturday, June 8 is the first stock car event of the season with a practice session for all divisions. Pit gates will open at 11 a.m. on Saturday with practice starting at 1 p.m.

RESULTS (Driver, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, dial-in, elapsed time and top speed)

Mallare Trucking Top

Winner: Keith Cleveland (Cheektowaga, N.Y.) 1970 Oldsmobile .503 7.10 7.097 seconds, 94.18 mph

Runner-up: Dale Eckert (S. Wales, N.Y.) 1969 Chevrolet Camaro .486 FOUL

Gianni Mazia’s Mod ET

Winner: Reid Ricketson (Darien Center, N.Y.) 1974 Plymouth Duster .542 7.05 7.040 seconds, 94.67 mph

Runner-up: Russell Morris (Alden, N.Y.) 1987 Oldsmobile Cutlass .484 FOUL

Gianni Mazia’s Mod ET (from 5/24)

Winner: Mason Fix (Amherst, N.Y.) 1969 Dodge Dart .523 7.31 7.300 seconds, 85.71 mph  

Runner-up: Jeff Kerl (Cheektowaga, N.Y.) 1968 Chevrolet Camaro .526 6.49 6.476 seconds, 105.60 mph

Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds

Winner: Lucas Salemi (Clarence Center, N.Y.) Arctic Cat .534 6.56 .6.552 seconds, 100.05 mph

Runner-up: Alan Fletcher (Lancaster, N.Y.) Kawasaki .478 FOUL

Tread City Tire Street

Winner: Cody Winkowski (Depew, N.Y.) 1987 Chevrolet Monte Carlo .550 8.27 8.644 seconds, 74.21 mph

Runner-up: Russell Morris (Alden, N. Y.) 1966 Dodge Fury III .650 9.01 9.019 seconds, 76.79 mph