Select Page


LANCASTER, N.Y. (July 15, 2018) – Owen Bednasz of Lakeview, N.Y. recorded his first career VP Racing Fuels Sportsman victory on Saturday night at Lancaster National Speedway. The 22-year-old Bednasz passed defending track champion Shawn Nye for the lead with 14 laps to go, and then drove on to score the win.

In additional X-Press Signs Stock Car Series action, Eldon King III from Freedom, N.Y. won the Race of Champions Late Model Series 30-lap event. Brian Hoffman of South Wales, N.Y. captured his first win of the season in the Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks. Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinder points leader, Dan Dressel of Clarence, N.Y. picked up his third win of 2018.

The start of the program was delayed approximately an hour and fifteen minutes due to late day showers. The track crew worked quickly to get the track in race-ready condition following the rain.

Tony Carbone started on the pole for the 35-lap VP Racing Fuels Sportsman feature, but gave up the lead to Shawn Nye on the opening lap. Bednasz overtook Carbone one lap later to move into second. The duo of Nye and Bednasz then pulled away from the field.

Bednasz stalked Nye throughout the first half of the race, looking for an opportunity to steal the lead. That chance came on lap 21 when Nye bobbled off of turn 2. Bednasz drove past Nye to take the lead in what was the race winning pass.

The 35-lap race went caution-free and Bednasz drove away to large margin to grab his first Sportsman win. Eddie Hawkins was credited with second to give back-to-back runner-up finishes. Mark Pennell, Tony Carbone and Jayme Thompson rounded out the top five.

The Race of Champions Late Model Series made its first visit of the season to Lancaster for its second race of the season. Sam Fullone and Bobby Weber led the field to green for the start of the 30-lap feature. That pair battled for the lead during the opening stages of the race. Weber took first from Fullone on a lap 12 restart.

Caution period around the middle portion of the race allowed Eldon King III to get involved in the race for the win. King passed Fullone on lap 13 for second, and then restart on lap 17 gave him the opportunity to take the lead from Weber. Weber unfortunately got tangled up with Frank Batista a couple of laps later to take away his chance to race King for the win.

King cruised to the checkered flag for his first win of 2018. Jerick Johnson of Mooresville, N.C. finished second in the POW-MIA Freedom #76. Fullone, Weber and Dave Whittaker finished in the top five.

Brian Hoffman snapped the five-race win streak of Andy Cryan in the Advance Auto Parts Street Stocks. Hoffman made his first start of the season on Saturday night and had to come through the field to catch and pass Tommy Wentland for the lead with nine laps to go.

Cryan’s chance to extend his win streak to six races came to an end on lap 18 when a wheel came off his car on the back straightaway to bring out the only caution of the 25-lap feature.

Wentland’s night came to an end as well during the caution period when his car lost power. This handed the runner-up spot to Max Northem, but he would also be bitten by mechanical gremlins and dropped out of the race with less than five laps to go.

Hoffman made the most of his first race of 2018 as he cruised to the victory. Dave Vona took advantage of Northem’s misfortune to finish second. Kyle Sharpe placed third. Ken Maltby and Jerome Hruby completed the top five.

Dan Dressel picked up his third win of the year in Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders to keep him up on top of the division point standings. Dressel came from the sixth starting position to pass Dave Brunka for the lead with 10 laps to go.

Joe Brunka got by his brother Dave late in the race to finish second. Chris Pennell overcame on early race incident to come home in third. Charles Palmer and Dave Brunka rounded out the top five.

Lancaster National Speedway is back in action on Saturday, July 28 for Autograph and FOAR Score Night. Fans can up close and personal with their favorite drivers during an on-track autograph session during intermission. All three X-Press Signs Stock Car Series divisions will be in action, plus the Race of Champions Late Model will be back as well. Racing starts at 6:30 p.m.



Heat Winner: Shawn Nye

Feature: OWEN BEDNASZ, Eddie Hawkins, Mark Pennell, Tony Carbone, Jayme Thompson, Dave Kozlowski, Leo Becker DQ: Shawn Nye


Heat Winners: Terry Weldy, Eldon King III

Feature: ELDON KING III, Jerick Johnson, Sam Fullone, Bobby Weber, Dave Whittaker, Bob Minacappelli, Frank Batista, Jr., Terry Weldy, Ron Richter, Andy Cryan


Heat Winners: Max Northem, Dave Vona, Kyle Sharpe

Feature: BRIAN HOFFMAN, Dave Vona, Kyle Sharpe, Ken Maltby, Jerome Hruby, John Carlson, Jay Cannonico, Jarrod Brown, Mike Dalfonso, Jr., Jerry Kosmowski, Jeff Szafraneic, Robert Palmer, Scott Soos, Jon Richael, Max Northem, Tommy Wentland. Andy Cryan, Garrett Cleversley DNS: Mike Rogers


Heat Winners: Joe Brunka, Chris Pennell

Feature: DAN DRESSEL, Joe Brunka, Chris Pennell, Charles Palmer, Dave Brunka, Josh Schosek, Bob Palmer, Briar Dils, Dave Evams, John Valencourt, Andy Danielwicz

Schedules – Download & Print

Sign-Up to Rained Out to receive a text when a race is cancelled