Select Page

Kevin Miller gets first career Sunoco Sportsman win

LANCASTER, N.Y. (July 9, 2017) – Kevin Miller of Rochester earned his first career Sunoco Sportsman win at Lancaster National Speedway on Saturday night to cap off First Responders Night presented by 10-75 Emergency Lighting.

In other X-Press Signs Stock Car Series action, Rich Sharpe of Lancaster, N.Y. won his fourth Advance Auto Parts Street Stock feature in a row to give him six wins on the year. Bobby Woch of Alden, N.Y. won his second Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinder feature of 2017. Tommy Reese of West Seneca, N.Y. won the Race of Champions Super Stock feature.

A total of 16 Sunoco Sportsman signed in for competition on Saturday. The two most recent track champions, Mark Pennell and Jake Lyon, led the field to the start of the 35 lap feature. The pair battled back-and-forth during the opening laps before Lyon took control for good.

Kevin Miller started fifth and began working his way to the front as soon as the green flag flew. Miller made his way past Pennell for second just before the yellow flag waved on lap 4 for a spin by Alan Bookmiller. On the ensuing restart, Miller outran Lyon to take over the race lead. Miller and Lyon then distanced themselves from the rest of the field.

Pennell was left to battle withe Mike Ramos and Jake Vernon for the rest of the top five positions while Matt Druar, Owen Bednasz, Sherri Hogan, Shawn Nye and Eddie Hawkins filled out the rest of the top ten. The race stayed green until lap 26 when Ramos and Druar tangled in turn one. Ramos’s car slammed the temporary wall that blocks the end of the dragstrip hard while Druar backed into turn one wall. Both drivers walked away, but both cars suffered heavy damage.

Lyon tried to get a run on Miller on the restart with just nine laps remaining, but Miller held off the challenge. He crossed the finish line for his first ever Sunoco Sportsman win. Miller returned to full time competition at Lancaster this season after running a partial schedule the last couple years. He had temporary relocated to North Carolina to work LFR Racing Chassis and Fury Race Cars.

Jake Lyon finished second followed by Vernon, Bednasz and Pennell.

Rich Sharpe came from the 11th starting position to pick up his sixth win of the year in the Advanced Auto Parts Street Stocks. The father-son duo of Tom and Max Northem led the 22-car field to the green flag. Tom Northem led an inside row charge on the opening lap as he went to the lead with third place starter Rich Pocobello and fifth place starter Ken Maltby filling behind him.

Sharpe moved to third place by lap 6 when Pocobello got out of shape, and Maltby, Sharpe and Max Northem all went by. Two laps later Sharpe cleared Maltby for second, and he then set his sights on Tom Northem. He was about to take lead on lap 9 when the yellow flag came out for John Carlson. That just delayed the inevitable as Sharpe took the lead from Northem on the ensuing restart.

A handful of the cautions in the second half of the race kept the field bunched up, but Sharpe was able to hang on for his fourth-straight victory. Maltby finished second. Jake Wylie his second-straight top five finish in third. Trevor Pettit and Max Northem rounded out the top five.

The Race of Champions Super Stocks made their third visit of the year to Lancaster. Tim Gullo was looking for his third-straight Lancaster win as he took the initial race lead from the outside pole. His night wound up being short lived as mechanical problems took him out of contention on lap 9.

Nearly half of the field was collected in a big pile up on lap 11. Tommy Krawczyk was running second when he spun coming off turn four, which collected several cars. Tom Barron and Joel Gleason, who finished second and third at Lancaster in the last RoC Super Stock race, were hit the hardest. Krawczyk and Bobby Schosek were also too damaged to return to competition.

The race resumed with Tommy Reese leading Robert Fink. That was pair was the class of the field as they pulled away from the rest of the cars remaining on track. The duo was racing to the white flag when they made contact in turn four. Reese spun out and both cars were sent to the rear of the field.

This moved Zach Willis to the lead with Ryan Lagoda and Shawn Frarey in second and third respectively. This time Lagoda spun to the infield as they raced to the white flag, but the yellow flag did not come out because he was far enough off the track. Willis, however, slowed while heading down the backstretch on the final lap. This sent the field scattering to avoid Willis, and Reese diced through the traffic to cross under the yellow and checkered flags first.

A second attempt at a green-white-checkered was made, but that finish was later nullified by RoC officials after consulting with the drivers over confusion on the yellow and checkered flag being displayed. Reese was declared the winner with Frarey, Josh Hunter, Robert Fink and Vern Hedderick completing the top five.

Bobby Woch led 22 of 25 laps for his second win of the year in the Roaming Buffalo 4-Cylinders. Woch and teammate, Kevin Bainbridge, dominated the majority of the race, which went caution free. Jason Anasiewicz finishes third behind the team cars. Dan Dressel and Dave Brunka rounded out the top five.

Next up for Lancaster National Speedway is Homecoming & Retro Night on Saturday, July 15. We will welcome back drivers from the past and encourage fans to wear their favorite throwback gear (shirts, hats, jackets, etc.) The Race of Champions Late Models and Vintage Modifieds will join Lancaster’s three weekly divisions. Racing starts at 6:30 p.m.



Heat Winners: Jake Lyon, Mike Ramos

Feature: KEVIN MILLER, Jake Lyon, Jake Vernon, Owen Bednasz, Mark Pennell, Shawn Nye, Eddie Hawkins, Timmy Lewis, Jayme Thompson, Sherri Hogan, Dave Kozlowski, Mike Rogers, Matt Druar, Mike Ramos, Alan Bookmiller DNS: John Barber


Heat Winners: Tom Northem, Rich Sharpe, Ken Maltby

Feature: RICH SHARPE, Ken Malby, Jake Wylie, Trevor Pettit, Max Northem, Rich Pocobello, Tommy Wentland, Mark Hoch, Tom Northem, Jerry Kozmowski, Mike Dalfonso, Jr., Keith Flanigan, Garrett Cleversley, Frank Prell, Gino Pinto, Brian Rogers, Jimmy Pierce, Dave Wilson, Jarrod Brown, John Carlson, Brian Hoffman DQ: Dennis Londos


Heat Winners: Bobby Woch, Dave Brunka

Feature: BOBBY WOCH, Kevin Bainbridge, Jason Anasiewicz, Dan Dressel, Dave Brunka, Chris Pennell, Dave Milbrand, Jr., Jacob Gustafson, Josh Schosek, Andy Cryan, Charles Palmer, Bob Palmer, Kayla Joseph, Casey Pew DNS: Justin Johnson, Russ Hartke


Heat Winners: Tim Gullo, Robert Fink, Josh Hunter

Feature: TOMMY REESE, Shawn Frarey, Josh Hunter, Robert Fink, Vern Hedderick, Dana Novoa, Zach Willis, Dale Lazzaro, Rob Misczak, Ryan Lagoda, Pete Pieczysnki, Josh Schoonmaker, Bobby Schosek, Jeff Whalen, Tim Gullo, Ron Richter, Tom Krawczyk, Tom Barron, Joel Gleason, Joe Mancuso

Schedules – Download & Print

Sign-Up to Rained Out to receive a text when a race is cancelled