Select Page


LANCASTER, N.Y. (June 3, 2017) – Lancaster National Dragway kicked off the month of June on Friday night with a full slate of Franco’s Pizza IHRA Drag Racing, including an appearance by the Buffalo Street Outlaws.

Top ET Winner Jason Sobczysnki

Mike Nowak of Lancaster nearly did the double in Top 8 and Mallare Enterprises Top ET. He was quick enough to qualify for the Top 8 ladder where he went on to the final round to defeat Michael Mallare. He then went into Top ET bracket and once again made it to the final pair. This time, however, his luck would run out as he broke out in the Top final. This allowed Jason Sobczysnki of Lancaster to score his first win of the season.

In McGard Mod ET, Ray Thurston IV of Clarence, N.Y. earned his first win of the season. Thurston faced veteran Roger Kieffer in the finals with both drivers running quicker than their dial-ins with Thurston running closest to his dial-in to get the win.

Mike Peters of Angola, N.Y. advanced to the final round of Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds for third-straight week to open the 2017 season. Peters beat Angelo Salemi to score his second win of the year.

Cody Winkowski of Depew, N.Y. scored the victory in Tread City Tire Street over Nick Morrisey.

Jason Benzique of Amherst, N.Y. remained hot in the Buffalo Street Outlaws (BSO) with his third win a row. Benzique won the BSO Street Limited class over Chris Scarlata to stay perfect in 2017. In the main event of the Buffalo Street Outlaws, Doug Vanstrom of N. Collins, N.Y. took down Randy Jewell in the finals.

This Tuesday, June 6, Lancaster National Dragway will host its third annual $5,000-to-win Pro Mod Shootout. Top Pro Modified teams from around the region will be looking to take home the lion’s share of the $10,000 total purse for this event. There will also be a Box/No-Box Shootout with $1000 going to the winner of each. Time trials start at 5 p.m. with Pro Mod qualifying at 6 p.m.

RESULTS (Driver, hometown, vehicle, reaction time, dial-in, elapsed time and top speed)

Top 8

Winner: Mike Nowak (Lancaster, N.Y.) 1967 Chevrolet Camaro .509 5.02 5.095 seconds, 120.66 mph

Runner-up: Michael Mallare (Grand Island, N.Y.) 1927 Ford .504 5.41 5.632 seconds, 110.56 mph

Mallare Enterprises Top ET

Winner: Jason Sobczysnki (Lancaster, N.Y.) 1970 Chevrolet Nova .509 6.42 6.481 seconds, 98.93 mph

Runner-up: Mike Nowak (Lancaster, N.Y.) 1967 Chevrolet Camaro .537 5.02 5.019 seconds, 139.25 mph

McGard Mod ET

Winner: Ray Thurston IV (Clarence, N.Y.) 1966 Plymouth Belvedere .584 6.87 6.863 seconds, 95.28 mph

Runner-up: Roger Kieffer (Clarence, N.Y.) 1968 Pontiac GTO .539 6.96 6.942 seconds, 95.52 mph

Hebeler’s Sales Bikes & Sleds

Winner: Mike Peters (Angola, N.Y.) 1980 Kawasaki .577 5.57 5.597 seconds, 120.66 mph

Runner-up: Angelo Salemi (Wheatfield, N.Y.) 1999 Polaris .611 6.50 6.476 seconds, 101.88 mph

Tread City Tire Street ET

Winner: Cody Winkowski (Depew, N.Y.) 1987 Chevrolet Monte Carlo .503 9.05 9.064 seconds, 77.69 mph

Runner-up: Nick Morrisey (W. Seneca, N.Y.) 1972 Plymouth Duster .515 8.35 8.343 seconds, 79.34 mph

Buffalo Street Outlaws

Winner: Doug Vanstrom (N. Collins, N.Y.) 1984 Ford Mustang .497 5.425 seconds, 113.60 mph

Runner-up: Randy Jewell (Rochester, N.Y.) 1978 Chevrolet Chevelle .482 8.717 seconds, 68.60 mph

BSO Street Limited

Winner: Jason Bezinque (Amherst, N.Y.) 2002 Chevrolet Camaro .511 5.578 seconds, 122.95 mph

Runner-up: Chris Scarlara (Bergen, N.Y.) 1994 Pontiac Firebird .477 5.656 seconds, 120.91 mph

Schedules – Download & Print

Sign-Up to Rained Out to receive a text when a race is cancelled